First Holiday

Posted: 2012/04/06 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I suppose if I were working, my first holiday in Sweden would have more impact as I would get to enjoy a luxuriously long weekend away from the office. It is Easter weekend and that means most offices and businesses are closed from Friday through Monday.

I find it funny that America, which likes to think of itself as this big Christian nation with Christian values barely even gives Easter a nod beyond chocolate bunnies and marshmallow peeps. Yet here, and throughout most of Europe, they quietly observe the occasion with a number of days off. I will venture out later to see if this affects my ability to buy groceries, and more importantly, wine!

Share your thoughts

